The University implements the Scholarship Schemes of the Government of India and the Government of  Maharashtra  for the students belonging to Schedule Cast (SC), Schedule Tribe (ST) Other Backward Classes (OBC) Special Backward Classess (SBC) Vimukta Jati and Nomatic  Tribe (VJNT) Poor Class from General Category for their higher education. The main Scheme are –

1.      Government of India Post Matric Scholarship

2.      Post Matric Scholarship to OBC Students

3.      Post Matric Scholarship to SBC Students

4.      Post Matric scholarship to VJNT Students

5.      Rajashri Chatrapati Shahu Maharaj Shikshan Shulka Shishyavrutti Yojana


These are schemes are monitor  by the following Departments

1.      Social Justice and Special Assistance Department

2.      Tribal Development Department

3.      OBC, SBC, VJNT and SBC Welfare Department

4.      Directorate of Higher Education.


At present the scholarships under these schems are offered for doing following educational programmes –

1.      Bachelor of Arts (BA)

2.      BA (Mass Communication & Journalism)

3.      Bachelor of Commerce (B.Com)

4.      Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)

5.      Bachelor of Computer Application (BCA)

6.      Bachelor of Library & Information Science (B.Lib)

7.      B.Ed Special Education

8.      Master of Arts (English)

9.      Master of Computer Application (MCA)

10.    Master of Commerce (M.Com)

11.     Master of Library & Information Science (M.Lib)

12.     M.Sc. (Environment Science)

13.  Masters of Business Administration (MBA)

The Students applying for the scholarship have to be the residents of the State of Maharashtra. They must have passed 10th STD or equivalent examination and they must have their Adhar card linked to their bank account. The applications are to be submitted on the web portal The Scholarship Department of the University publishes advertisement about scholarship available under these schemes  in news papers as well as on the Web Site of the University. In addition to this audio video programmes have also been made and they have been put on the YouTube so as to assist students giving detail information about the schemes and as to how they should fill up and submit the forms.

            The SSD is making every effort to benefit students  of every Scholarship Scheme to enable them complete their education.


National Service Scheme

The University has implemented National  Service Scheme (NSS) from the year 2006. The Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University  is the first Open University to have received the honour of  implementing the  National Service Scheme among all the National and State level Open Universities. The NSS activities are mainly directed towards  –

1.      Raising enrollment of women in education and bringing them into main stream of  education.

2.      Creating social awareness, understanding in the society and making people take up collective efforts to resolve issues.

3.      Developing leadership qualities and skills in students and making them capable of leading people for socially useful activities.

4.      Creating awareness against social evils like dowry,  superstations, use of  tobacco & alcohol etc

5.      Developing personality of  students with social orientation attitude & helpful nature.

The  NSS units has organized  various activities in the regions based on social & economic conditions and the needs of  local people. These conditions vary region and area wise and hence area & conditions based activities are given priority. Some of the main activities  are  -

1.      Creation of awareness about importance of cleanliness & making people participate in cleanliness drive.

2.      Women empowerement  programmes, education of  girls & women,  prevention of child labour.

3.      Protection of  environment,  plantation of  trees, maintenance of  water resources & protecting them for any kind of pollution, ban on use of  plastics & adopt  environment  friendly lifestyle.

4.      Blood donation camps, Eye donation camps & overall health awareness camps

There are 2700 NSS units in all the 8 regions and in the area of study center and locality the activities are organized. The University receives grant from the Govt. of Maharashtra for implementing various socially useful activities through National Service Scheme

For More Informatiom click Here